Exhibitions in the castle

 
Exhibition basement

  Castle kitchen in the basement
A very special impression is conveyed by the former castle kitchen in the basement of the old main wing. Both of the vaults which were outfitted with historical objects, the baroque hearth with huge smoke-hood as well as the bricked-in fountain and a water drain made of sandstone allows one to savour the everyday kitchen experience during princely times.

  Details

 
Exhibition ground floor

  Exhibition rooms on the ground floor
Large-format reproductions of engravings and photographs in the rooms of the ground floor illustrate the development of the castle of Zerbst. Numerous objects from the castle can be seen in the Lapidarium and in three separate exhibition rooms. Further illustrations show the original appearance of the baroque castle complex and the work of the association.

  Details

 
Exhibition 1st floor

  Exhibition rooms on the 1st floor
On the princely family floor, one can visit the former apartments of Princess Johanna Elizabeth and Prince Friedrich August, mother and brother of the Empress Catherine the Great. Reproductions of historic views help to illustrate their former magnificence. The Second princely ante-rooms and the cedar cabinet form the highlights of these exhibition rooms.

  Details

 
Exhibition 2st floor

  Exhibition rooms on the 2st floor
The "International association Catherine the second", as well as the "International FaschSociety" and the "Zerbst Heritage Association" are partner organisations with their own exhibitions in the castle. The presentations are devoted to the life and work of Princess Sophie Auguste Friederike von Anhalt-Zerbst as well as to the Zerbst court composer, Johann Friedrich Fasch and to the historic town of Zerbst.

  Details

 
The opening times of the exhibitions in the castle are to be found in the "Tours" section.

Ausstellungen im Schloss

 
Ausstellung Souterrain

  Schlossküche im Souterrain
Einen Eindruck der besonderen Art vermittelt die ehemalige Schlossküche im Keller des alten Haupttraktes. Die beiden mit historischen Gerätschaften ausgestalteten Gewölbe, die barocke Herdstelle mit gewaltigem Rauchfang sowie der gemauerte Brunnen und ein Abfluss aus Sandstein lassen den Küchenalltag zu fürstlichen Zeiten erahnen.

  Details

 
Ausstellung Erdgeschoss

  Ausstellungsräume im Erdgeschoss
Großformatige Reproduktionen von Stichen und Fotografien verdeutlichen in den Räumen des Erdgeschosses die Entwicklung des Zerbster Schlosses. In drei separaten Ausstellungsräumen und im Lapidarium sind zahlreiche Objekte aus dem Schloss zu sehen. Weitere Abbildungen veranschaulichen das ursprüngliche Aussehen der barocken Schlossanlage und die Arbeit des Fördervereins.

  Details

 
Ausstellung 1. Obergeschoss

  Ausstellungsräume im 1. Obergeschoss
In der fürstlichen Etage können die ehemaligen Räume der Appartements der Fürstin Johanna Elisabeth und des Fürsten Friedrich August - Mutter und Bruder der Zarin Katharina II. - besichtigt werden. Reproduktionen historischer Ansichten verdeutlichen die einstige Pracht. Das Zweite Fürstliche Vorzimmer und das Zedernkabinett bilden die Höhepunkte dieser Schauräume.

  Details

 
Ausstellungen 2. Obergeschoss

  Ausstellungsräume im 2. Obergeschoss
Der Int. Förderverein Katharina II. e. V., die Int. Fasch-Gesellschaft e. V. und der Zerbster Heimatverein e. V. sind als Partnervereine mit eigenen Ausstellungen im Schloss vertreten. Die Präsentationen widmen sich dem Leben und Wirken der Prinzessin Sophie Auguste Friederike von Anhalt-Zerbst, dem Zerbster Hofkapellmeister Johann Friedrich Fasch und dem historischen Zerbst.

  Details

 
Die Öffnungszeiten der Ausstellungen im Schloss sind unter der Rubrik "Besichtigung" einsehbar.