Apartment of Princess Johanna Elisabeth

 
First princely anteroom
First
princely anteroom
Second princely anteroom
Second
princely anteroom
Audience Chamber
Audience
Chamber
Green Cabinet
Green
Cabinet
Cedar Cabinet
Cedar
Cabinet
 

  The panoramas   For virtual tour  

Princess Johanna Elizabeth, the mother of Russian Empress Catherine II., moved into her new apartment 1753 in the east wing of the castle. It comprised twelve rooms and had a floor area of 448 square meters. The suite in the style of Rococo Frederick was destroyed in 1945 and was the most noteworthy and precious in the residence.

After extensive construction and reconfigurations, the rooms are usable once again. The reception rooms include the first and second Princely hall, the audience chamber and the Green Cabinet.The auxiliary chamber, today Portrait Gallery, belongs to the private realm. The servants' waiting room, now china room, the hall, the bedroom (formerly Alcove, Retreat and Library), the Cedar Cabinet and the Yellow Cabinet.

Today, two virtual rooms form the highlights of this apartment. The second Princely hall was opened in 2010, the Cedar Cabinet in 2015. Historical photographs formed the basis for the creation of wall displays and of the floors and ceilings on the computer. The printed sheets were then placed in the rooms.


 
The opening times of the exhibitions in the castle are to be found in the "Tours" section.

Back to exhibition overview

Appartement der Fürstin Johanna Elisabeth

 
Erstes Fürstliches Vorzimmer
Erstes Fürstliches
Vorzimmer
Zweites Fürstliches Vorzimmer
Zweites Fürstliches
Vorzimmer
Fürstliches Audienzgemach
Fürstliches
Audienzgemach
Grünes Kabinett
Grünes
Kabinett
Zedernkabinett
Zedern-
kabinett
 

  Zu den Panoramen   Zum virtuellen Rundgang  

Fürstin Johanna Elisabeth, die Mutter der russischen Zarin Katharina II., bezog 1753 ihr neues Appartement im Ostflügel des Schlosses. Es umfasste zwölf Zimmer und hatte eine Fläche von 448 Quadratmetern. Die 1945 zerstörte Suite im Stil des friderizianischen Rokokos war die kostbarste in der Residenz.

Nach umfangreichen Baumaßnahmen und Ausgestaltungen sind die Räume wieder begehbar. Zu den Repräsentationsräumen zählen das Erste und Zweite Fürstliche Vorzimmer, das Audienzgemach und das Grüne Kabinett. Zum privaten Bereich gehören die Nebenkammer, heute Porträtgalerie, das Bedientenaufwartungszimmer, jetzt Porzellanzimmer, das Vorzimmer, das Schlafzimmer (ehemals mit Alkoven, Retirade und Bibliothek) sowie das Zedernkabinett und das Gelbe Kabinett.

Heute bilden zwei visualisierte Räume die Höhepunkte dieses Appartements. Das Zweite Fürstliche Vorzimmer wurde 2010 eröffnet, das Zedernkabinett im Jahr 2015. Historische Aufnahmen bildeten die Grundlage für die Erstellung der Wandabwicklungen sowie der Fußböden und Decken am Computer. Die gedruckten Folien wurden dann in den Räumen angebracht.


 
Die Öffnungszeiten der Ausstellungen im Schloss sind unter der Rubrik "Besichtigung" einsehbar.

zurück zur Ausstellungsübersicht